Silverstone F1 Testing 2014 PH 51

The 5 Most Successful F1 Teams Of All Time

More than one hundred teams have been formed to create cars that race in the Formula 1 Championship since it was founded back in 1950. In all these years, only fifteen have managed to win the Formula 1 Constructor’s Championship. The rules have evolved over the years – till 1980 only the best performing vehicle would contribute extra points to the standings of the constructor with other rules on counting the best results of the team over the season. So, which F1 teams have managed to stay on top, and how many titles have they amassed up until now?

1. Ferrari

You’re probably not surprised that Ferrari is the best performing F1 team in the continent. It started participating in Formula One races before all the teams that will appear on this list. And sixteen years before any team that is currently competing with them. It has won most of the F1 races in the world. It has more podiums, more fast laps, more positions on the pole, and the majority of points in history. It took four sessions for Ferrari to win the first constructors title after the invention of the crown back in 1958. The first title was secured by Wolfgang von Trips and Phil Hill. Since then, the victories have been abundant.

2. Williams (9 Titles)

William’s entry to the list of winners surprised many. The team’s first race was in 1977 as a constructor and got its first title in 1980. It continued to win more over the years. This period of winning saw titles for Nelson Piquet, Alan Jones, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, and Jacques Villeneuve. Williams is still racing competitively today with BMW. Thanks to the rise of online gambling, players can review F1 team performance and place bets with real money easily at Gamblerzz. Williams’s dominance coincides with the rise of the televised Formula One around the world.

3. McLaren (8 Titles)

McLaren has the biggest disparity between winning drivers’ titles and winning constructors’ titles. The ethos of McLaren has always been geared towards the top-line championship glory of individuals. While it has managed to win the driver’s title and missing out on the constructor’s glory four times, McLaren always wins the drivers’ champion together with the constructors’ title. McLaren dominated heavily in the late 70s and early 80s. The team won six titles in eight years with four on the trot, which was quite expected for some fans, who are used to placing bets on the team. They took their place in 1998 and clinched the title together with the driver’s crown. Since then, McLaren has not won the constructors title.

Silverstone F1 Testing 2014 PH 45

4. Lotus (7 Titles)

Similar to McLaren and Williams, Lotus has won all the constructors crowns in quick successions and faded gradually. Colin Chapman’s genius helped Lotus become the team to win in the ’60s and early 70s. The Lotus brand was powered by Cosworth and Ford to become the best in aerodynamic arts before transforming Formula One with the ground effect invention. Since then, Lotus has continued innovating and introducing bigger names to Formula One but has never managed to climb to the top. The last title for constructors and drivers came in with Mario Andretti in 1978. Two extra teams have taken the Lotus name with one receiving support from the company.

5. Mercedes (7 Titles)

The Mercedes team has won six titles only over the years. And there are two reasons behind this. First, its dominant period in F1 came before the World Title was invented. Juan Manuel won two titles in the 1950s. However, there was no constructor’s crown then. Second, after the disaster in 1955, Le Mans decided to quit motorsport and the name returned to F1 till 2010 as a constructor. In 2014, Mercedes managed to win 89 races and has clinched the constructor’s title each season.


These are the five most successful F1 teams in the world since the 1950s. Thanks to the creation of the Constructor’s title, we can easily measure and figure out the best performing team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *